Recipients of the 2023 GDCA Pioneer and Lifetime Achievement Awards announced

Mabel Addis recognized with the Pioneer Award and John Romero with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ruchika Saini

The Game Developers Choice Awards (GDCA) are known for recognizing and celebrating the creativity, artistry, and technical expertise of the developers who created outstanding games in the previous year. The winners of these annual awards are announced during a ceremony at the annual Game Developers Conference (GDC), with the exception of two special awards recognizing long-term commitment and contribution to the craft, which are announced prior to the conference. This year, Mabel Addis, recognized as the first female game designer, will posthumously receive the Pioneer Award, which honors breakthrough business, tech, and game design milestones. The award-winning game designer, level

Enjoy full access with a TechWatch subscription!

TechWatch is the front line of JPR information gathering service, comprising current stories of interest to the graphics industry spanning the core areas of graphics hardware and software, workstations, gaming, and design.

A subscription to TechWatch includes 4 hours of consulting time to be used over the course of the subscription.

Already a subscriber? Login below

This content is restricted

Subscribe to TechWatch